Natural Ingredients plus DIY deodorant

20110610-photo (2) copy

I was happy to get some natural cornstarch, aluminum-free baking soda, and organic lavender buds recently. I’m keeping stock of the lavender as a talc substitute. There are a number of natural body care products that use cornstarch or baking soda. Right now I’m working towards making a deodorant stick. I found two different recipes for this.

Tammy’s recipe from her blog http://www.tammysrecipes.com

  1. Mix the dry ingredients together
  2. slowly add the coconut oil until you have the consistency you want.

Amy’s recipe at her blog http://angrychicken.typepad.com

  • 3 Tablespoons shea butter
  • 3 Tablespoons baking soda
  • 2 Tablespoons corn starch
  • 2 Tablespoons cocoa butter
  • 2 vitamin E oil gel caps (puncture and squeeze out the oil)
  • Essential Oil (I used ylang yang and orange)
  1. Melt the solid oils/butters in a microwave. I would use a double boiler though since that study done on microwaved water and plants has me avoiding the nuker.
  2. Mix in liquids and incorporate.
  3. Add in dry ingredients and incorporate.
There are other varieties of this on the net with vegetable glycerine and beeswax. You can look around yourself and see  which you like. Amy’s looks a little more luxurious with the butters, but this is a better option for storage. After the product hardens it will take more heat to melt. I’m in a tropical country, so its better for me. Now I want to try Amy’s recipe and substitute cocoa butter for the shea and half the amount of the cocoa butter with some beeswax.
My first attempt at making deo was a flop. I was using Tamy’s recipe and substituted lavender for cornstarch. I was working with the recipe off the top or my head and mixed up talc for cornstarch. So it was a glob of grey looking plant matter in oil that smelled of peppermint. It smelled nice and is usable -it just never solidified. With aluminum free bicarbonate soda, I can’t wait to work on this project again soon.
Notes on ingredients:
Essential Oils:
I would use Tea-Tree E.O since it has antimicrobial, anti fungal, anti bacterial and anti viral properties. I don’t quite like the fragrance of Tea Tree though so I will add a few other EOs to it. I’m thinking some lavender which is anti fungal as well, and maybe some peppermint as a fresh top note.
Vitamin E:
Make sure the vitamin E you use is T-50, anything more than that is usually wasted. 200IU is good for ingestion but for body products T-50 is better. I have used some 200IU capsules in a pinch for products Ill use myself. You get more bang for your buck when you use T-50 for your body products, it mixes with oils the best and after the T-50 mark its antioxidant capacity for body products doesn’t increase, and it costs less. I’m assuming it’s in this recipe as an antioxidant for shelf life since vitamin E is often used for that property.
Rosemary Extract:
You can use rosemary extract as an alternative antioxidant, but there has been an argument about that due to the concentration needed. I find the fragrance plant-y and prefer the herb but others call it a fresh scent. I love rosemary in food!
Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Natural Ingredients plus DIY deodorant

  1. natural deodorant says:

    What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & aid other customers like its helped me. Great job.

Leave a Reply

