DIY soap mold, plus a note on BPA

Since I’m on a budget right now I did a quick search on making soap molds. I found the linked blogs very informative DIYtutorials.

soap making

This bad photo I just took breaks the monotony of text.

I got a couple of PVC plastic sheets. If you have seen the round PVC pipe molds, in theory, it should work the same. The plastic sheets are available at my local book & school supply store. They were a little over a dollar each. So I spent about PHP 101.30 (2.31 USD) at National. So I will be getting out my glue gun and will writing a tutorial on how I made it since I haven’t seen one around. That will happen when I get around to it. It follows the concept of making it from wood except without the power tools and screws. I will be making some liners from heavy duty wax paperI have laying around here from ages ago.

  1. Back to Basic Living shows us how to make a wooden soap mold here.
  2. The Soap Bar shows how to make a silicon mold liner here. IMO once you get the silicon you can use it for a great number of things. Mold something out of clay, powder it, then presto! IF its food safe you have a silpa-mat or a chocolate mold, or a jello mold, an ice cube tray, or at the least if its not food safe a candle mold, clay mold, or another kind of non-food mold.
  3. Lovin Soap Blog talkrd about how to make reusable plastic (poly carbonate) mold liners here. What I will be doing is more like this, except with PVC.
    PVC SPI code, for recycling (Society of the Pl...

    Image via Wikipedia

Safety note, Polycarbonate is *not* BPA free, so you might get some of it in your soap as leeching occurs during heating. Try to let your soap cool down a bit first, or if you’re paranoid like me avoid BPA as much as you can. It’s already in a lot of stuff you don’t know about (pipe lining, canned food lining, dental fillings, plastic containers with the recycle sign #4 and up, thermal printed receipts, and a lot more. In high exposure cases it has been linked to reproductive dysfunction, sterility, and even genital mutation. According to this article, the seeping occurs at 240 deg Fahrenheit. For more on Bisphenol A do a google search or click the link to see what Wikipedia says. My 2 cents, BPA is nasty. PVC might leech phlatelets but I haven’t read much on that yet nor found sources on it. That and the mold I’m making is just until I can make one out of wood or buy one.

Its refreshing to be looking around and using what I already have. In my walk, I’m working on letting tomorrow worry about itself. It is turning out as a learning experience. Its more fulfilling and a refreshing spin on the commercialized world we live in.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

